Conestoga news

April 10, 2024 12:53 PM

Awards ceremony recognizes employers and students

Conestoga’s annual Employer Recognition Awards honoured the contributions of businesses, employers, community partners, and co-op and Work-Integrated Learning (WIL) students at an event held at the college’s Cambridge - Reuter Drive campus on April 3.

Co-op Students of the Year (Pictured L-R) Macy Stewart, McKeela Watson, Shaheen Basheer, Nishar Liyakatali Diwan, Mason Paterson, and WIL Student of the Year, Calvin Russel.

Co-hosted by Talent Hub - Employer Services, Co-operative education, WIL, the Community Career Centre, Alumni Engagement, and Corporate Training, the event provided a chance for networking and reflection on the impact of the relationships the Conestoga community has with employers and organizations throughout Southwestern Ontario.

“Our award winners have shown their commitment to Conestoga in many ways - from participating in program advisory committees, to employing our co-op students and graduates or accessing corporate training - today’s ceremony is truly a celebration of our partners who create invaluable experiences for our students, graduates and clients. It’s also a chance to recognize the performance of our co-op and WIL Students of the Year,” said Norma McDonald-Ewing, associate vice president, Employee Experience and Development.

All 2024 awards recipients:

President’s Employer of Distinction Award

  • Magna International

Alumni Employer of Distinction Award

  • St. Mary’s General Hospital

Corporate Training Employer of Distinction Award

  • Jefferson Elora Corporation

Community Career Centre Employer of Distinction Award

  • The Sugar Maple Restaurant

Work-Integrated Learning Host Organization Awards

  • Intertek Catalyst
  • Markham District Energy
  • St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton

CICE Host Organization Award

  • Northfield Sobeys 4729

WIL Mentor of the Year Award

  • Lisa Drew - CityNews 570 Kitchener
  • Cherri Greeno - Waterloo Regional Police Service

Co-operative Education Employer of Distinction Award

  • ATS Corporation
  • Cascades
  • Miovision
  • RBC

Co-operative Education Mentor of the Year Award

  • Mercede Hazell - The Cooperators
  • Meagan Sitek - Zehr Construction

Co-operative Education Student of the Year Awards

  • Shaheen Basheer - Mobile Solutions Development
  • Macy Stewart - Business Administration - Marketing
  • Mark Peters - Electrical Engineering Technology
  • Nishar Liyakatali Diwan - Global Hospitality Management
  • McKeela Watson - Bachelor of Public Relations
  • Mason Paterson - Electrical Technician - Industrial

Work-Integrated Learning Student of the Year Awards

  • Scotia Campbell - Early Childhood Education
  • Calvin Russell - Game Design