Conestoga news

June 3, 2005 10:16 AM

Broadcasting Students Receive Awards for Excellence

Eleven students from Conestoga’s three-year program in Broadcasting - Radio and Television are sharing in more than $5,000 in awards as the outstanding students in the program for the 2004-2005 academic year.

The awards are sponsored by a variety of broadcasting-related businesses, industries and organizations.

Broadcasting - Radio and Television is one of Conestoga’s most popular programs. Offered at the Doon campus in Kitchener, it explores many aspects of the broadcasting profession: news and entertainment, on-air performance, programming, mobile production, regulations, sales, camera operation and videography, editing and management. Senior-level students specialize in either radio or television, and all students in the program gain considerable experience at Conestoga’s television studio and at 88.3 CJIQ-FM, Conestoga’s radio station that has a signal that covers most of southwestern Ontario. Many students add to the value of their studies by working part-time in the broadcasting industry during their period of enrolment.

For 2004-2005, the major winners are Rebecca Speers of Kitchener, who earned four awards totaling $1,250, and Christina Marshall of Eden Mills, who won three awards, also totaling $1,250.

In alphabetical order, the 2004-2005 winners are as follows.
  • Ken Beckett of Ayr:
    The TSN Award (amount not disclosed by sponsor) for outstanding sports reporting or production.

  • Michael Cameron of Alton:
    The Pat Fitzgerald Award ($500 from the staff of Kitchener station CKCO-TV) for outstanding effort and overall contribution in promoting motivation, goodwill, patience, consideration and understanding among student colleagues.
    The Ken MacKenzie Award ($300 subscribed in memoriam by friends and colleagues) for innovative use of technology in program production.

  • Ashley Cross of Nobleton:
    The $250 Award for Announcing (sponsored by Kitchener station CHYM-FM) for first-year achievement in a variety of on-air broadcast formats.

  • Cale Fair of Toronto:
    The Creative Production Award ($250 from Stratford radio station CJCS) for outstanding ability in the production of commercials. The Newsperson of the Year Award ($250 from Guelph stations CJOY/Magic 106.1)for individual enterprise and expertise in news gathering and reporting.

  • April Kimble of Kitchener:
    The $250 Award for Announcing (sponsored by Kitchener station CHYM-FM) for third-year achievement in a variety of on-air broadcast formats.

  • Ashley Letsch of Kitchener:
    A bursary (amount undisclosed by sponsor) from the Women In Media Foundation.

  • Christina Marshall of Eden Mills:
    The $500 CHUM Radio Production Award for production of the best radio program combining elements such as sound, clarity, editing, style, creativity and on-air talent. The Betty Thompson Bursary ($500 from Kitchener CTV affiliate CKCO-TV) for effective demonstration of community involvement through volunteer work. The Faculty Award of $250 for support and assistance provided to program faculty and staff in furthering the aims and successful operation of the program.

  • Troy Shantz of Kitchener:
    The $500 Rogers Television Award (Rogers Community Television, Kitchener) for a significant contribution to community programming while volunteering or on work placement with Rogers.

  • Rebecca Speers of Kitchener:
    The $500 Christopher Allen Rawnsley/Sony of Canada Award for excellence as a television/video producer. The Creative Writing Award ($250 from Stratford radio station CJCS) for outstanding writing ability in the creation of commercials. The Carl A. Pollock Award ($250 from Electrohome Ltd.) for the highest academic standing entering the final year of the program. The Betty Thompson Broadcaster of the Year Award ($250 from CKCO-TV, the Kitchener CTV affiliate) for individual enterprise, achievement and expertise as a broadcaster.

  • Chantelle Tregunna of Drumbo:
    The $250 Award for Announcing (sponsored by Kitchener station CHYM-FM) for second-year achievement in a variety of on-air broadcast formats.

  • Lyndsey Woolcock of Kitchener:
    The John Larke Memorial Bursary ($500 from Kitchener station CHYM-FM), to defray costs for an outstanding student preparing for a broadcasting career. The CKWR Award ($250 from Waterloo station YOUR-FM/CKWR 98.5) for production of a segment of less than 10 minutes with a community focus or for promotion of a community activity.

Michael Thurnell
519-748-5220, ext. 3223