Conestoga news

March 7, 2024 9:13 AM

Health sciences program coordinator awarded Conestoga’s top teaching honour

Gino De Pinto, a member of Conestoga’s School of Health & Life Sciences team, has been awarded the 2023 Aubrey Hagar Distinguished Teaching Award recognizing leadership and outstanding contributions to teaching and learning at the college.

Gino De Pinto, a member of Conestoga’s School of Health & Life Sciences team, has been awarded the 2023 Aubrey Hagar Distinguished Teaching Award.

De Pinto joined Conestoga in 2006 as a part-time faculty member, advancing to a full-time teaching role and clinical educator. He is now program coordinator for the Respiratory Therapy program.

De Pinto holds a Master in Education from Yorkville University, a Bachelor of Science (Honours) from the University of Waterloo as well as a Bachelor of Education from Brock University. He also completed an advanced diploma in Respiratory Therapy from Fanshawe College.

Before joining Conestoga, De Pinto held positions at several regional hospitals and also performed frontline duties during the COVID-19 pandemic. He has served as a committee member as well as a member of the Board of Directors for the Respiratory Therapy Society of Ontario, and is a founding member of the Canadian Society of Respiratory Therapists Simulation Network committee.

De Pinto creates meaningful and engaging teacher-student experiences at Conestoga, giving context to lessons by drawing on clinical practice and real-world situations. Technology and innovation are incorporated into his classroom, and his advocacy for quality work has resulted in student-led presentations and publications at national and provincial conferences.

He contributes to course and program-level design, and leads in annual program reflections and accreditation processes. De Pinto is credited for being key in establishing the integrated theory/lab model and mapping the Respiratory Therapy National Competency Framework to learning outcomes within courses.

Colleagues and students describe De Pinto as leading by example, promoting excellence and valuing the importance of establishing lasting, meaningful professional relationships.

De Pinto was presented with the award during the college’s 2024 winter convocation celebration, held from February 26 to March 1.

Established in 1988, the Aubrey Hagar Distinguished Teaching Award is named in honour of respected teacher, mentor and innovator Aubrey Hagar who as a member of the college’s founding Board of Governors provided leadership to the college for more than two decades in director roles.

Candidates are nominated by students and peers and evaluated by a selection committee based on contributions to learning design, innovation and creativity, integrity and professionalism, promotion of quality in education, concern and sensitivity for students, and ambassadorship for the college.