Conestoga news

November 16, 2018 12:33 PM

New scholarship supports women in engineering technology

Five Conestoga students from the School of Engineering & Information Technology were named to the 2018-19 Women in Engineering Technology Fletcher Scholars' Program at an event held at the Doon campus on November 14. Each recipient will be recognized as a "Fletcher Scholar" and receive a $1,500 scholarship.

Conestoga College - Fletcher Scholars 2018-19.jpg
The 2018-19 Fletcher Scholars were announced at an event held at Conestoga's Doon campus on November 14. Each recipient will receive a $1,500 scholarship.

The program is new to Conestoga and funded by a grant from The Fletcher Foundation that is matched by Conestoga. The program will provide scholarships for five students annually for three years. In addition to receiving financial support, Fletcher Scholars will be responsible for organizing four to six events for female students in Conestoga’s engineering technician and technology programs to provide networking opportunities with other female students, Conestoga alumni and OACETT members. The Scholars will also participate in outreach events like the college’s Go ENG Girl and Go CODE Girl days -- which invite young women in grades seven to 12 to the college to learn more about careers in engineering and technology -- as well as Open House and National Engineering Month activities.

“Become a role model, attend events, network, engage and show what women in technology can do in terms of the profession,” said David Terlizzi, director, Professional Affairs, Services and Government Relations at OACETT. “This program is close to our hearts and OACETT is steadfastly interested and serious about expanding it -- I think this is a really good thing and I’m excited about it.”

The Carole and George Fletcher Foundation was established more than 25 years ago in honour of George Fletcher, past president of the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists (OACETT), to foster excellence in education through student support.

OACETT administers the foundation and is Ontario's independent certifying body for engineering and applied science technicians and technologists and confers the designations C.Tech. (Certified Technician) and C.E.T. (Certified Engineering Technologist). 

The scholarship is open to female students in engineering technician/technology programs at Conestoga that OACETT recognizes as meeting all the academic requirements for certification in the C.E.T. or C.Tech. categories.

“On behalf of the Fletcher Foundation Scholars, I’d like to thank each and every one of you for taking time out of your night to come and support us,” said recipient Abby Hanley. “We’d like to thank OACETT, The Fletcher Foundation and Conestoga for giving us this opportunity and to help expand the role of women in engineering.”

The 2018-19 Fletcher Foundation Scholars are:

  • Irina Alexandru - Software Engineering Technology
  • Molly Bouchard - Civil Engineering Technology
  • Sarah Broda - Mechanical Engineering Technology - Robotics and Automation
  • Keshika Callychurn - Electrical Engineering Technology
  • Abby Hanley - Construction Engineering Technology - Architecture

Conestoga’s School of Engineering & Information Technology offers a full range of certificate, diploma and bachelor’s degree programs that incorporate active learning through project-based activities, co-operative education, case studies and capstone projects.

Visit Conestoga's website for more information about student awards, bursaries, scholarships and grants.