Conestoga news

May 15, 2017 7:55 AM

Students compete at Skills Ontario Competition

During May 1 to 3, 29 Conestoga students competed in the annual Skills Ontario Competition at the Toronto Congress Centre. The event is the largest skilled trade and technology competition in Canada, involving more than 22,000 students, spectators, and other guests from all regions of the province.

The competition provides secondary and post-secondary students an opportunity to showcase and test their skills in 68 unique skilled trade and technology contests from across the manufacturing, transportation, construction, service, and technology sectors. Students compete for gold, silver and bronze medals; monetary awards; and job offers in select contest areas.

“Because of the contribution from industry, education, and government partners, including the Government of Ontario, Skills Ontario is able to offer innovative and engaging programming at the Skills Ontario Competition that promote skilled trade and technology careers to young Ontarians,” said Gail Smyth, executive director for Skills Ontario. “Those who compete at the competition are the future of skilled trades and technologies in Ontario.”

Winners were announced during the closing ceremony, held Wednesday, May 3. Conestoga students finished with 12 medals and received both gold and bronze medals in the Auto Service Technology and Electronics contests.
Congratulations to Conestoga’s 2017 Skills Ontario Competition winners:


  • Brandon Becker - Brick Masonry
  • Sam Todd - Auto Service Technology
  • Brett DeCarvalho - Electronics
  • Corey Lavallee - Refrigeration
  • Tim Deslauriers - Welding apprentice


  • Nate Becker - CNC Machining
  • David Sprague - Heating Systems Technician 
  • Harmen Jongsma - Carpentry
  • Singithi Kandage - Website Development
  • Devin Gallagher - Cabinetmaking
  • Doug Whittle - Auto Service Technology
  • Michael Young - Electronics
Conestoga’s gold medalists will be eligible to represent Team Ontario at the Skills Canada National Competition, scheduled May 31 to June 4 in Winnipeg.