Conestoga news

November 30, 2010 12:33 PM

Conestoga Students Honoured by International Foundation

Six students from Conestoga’s Architecture - Project and Facility Management (APFM) degree program recently travelled to Atlanta, Georgia, where they were honoured as scholarship recipients by the International Facility Management Association (IFMA), the world’s largest association for facility management professionals.

The awards, valued between $1500 and $5000, are presented to undergraduate and graduate students based on past achievements, leadership skills and involvement in the world of facility management. Scholarship recipients also receive an all expenses paid trip to the World Workplace Conference where they are presented with their awards and have opportunities to network and make vital contacts with industry professionals.

Conestoga students receiving awards at the 2010 conference include Jessica Cushing, ArslanDjumaev, Rick Krause,Laura Murray and Marissa Neves, all fourth-year students in the APFM program, as well as third-year student Flavia De Martino.

The APFM program at Conestoga is Canada’s only post-secondary program in facilities management accredited by IFMA, and one of only nine in the world. Focused on project-based learning, the program includes four co-op semesters that provide students with real-world experience.

Other accredited institutions include Brigham Young University, the Pratt Institute, Cornell University and the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning is one of Canada’s premier polytechnic institutes. Recognized as leaders in applied education and research, we provide a comprehensive range of programs that prepare our graduates for success in business, industry and the community. For more information, visit us at

About the Recipients:

Jessica Cushing of Kitchener received the Dallas Fort Worth Chapter of IFMA Scholarship valued at $2000. Jessica is the Membership Director of the IFMA Conestoga student chapter andhas completed co-op terms at Corche Technical Services, The Walter Fedy Partnership and Enermodal Engineering.

Flavia De Martino of Cambridge received the Central Pennsylvania Chapter of IFMA Scholarship in the amount of $2000. Flavia is the Education Director of the IFMA Conestoga student chapter and has worked for Public Works and Government Services Canada in Ottawa as well as the City of Brampton.

ArslanDjumaev of Waterloo received a $2000 award from the West Michigan Chapter of IFMA. Arslan has completed co-op terms with Traugott Building Contractors, CB Richard Ellis and a self-employed work term as Sustinere Consulting providing services for Stiplosek Properties.

Rick Krause of Kitchener received the $1500 Silicon Valley Chapter of IFMA Scholarship. Rick has completed co-op terms with Grand River Hospital, Seawood Solutions, Region of Waterloo, and The Walter Fedy Partnership.

Laura Murray of Mildmayreceived the Utilities Council of IFMA Scholarship in the amount of $5000. Laura is President of the IFMA Conestoga student chapter and has completed co-op terms with SNC LavalinProfac, Enermodal Engineering, Conestoga College and Ontario Power Generation.

Marissa Neves of Kitchener received the Canadian Chapter Scholarship from the IFMA Toronto Chapter in the amount of $1500. Marissa is Director of Projects for the IFMA Conestoga student chapter andhas been employed by the Region of Waterloo, Enermodal Engineering and Research In Motion.

Arslan Djumaev, Flavia De Martino, Marissa Neves, Faculty Advisor Jim Bechard, Laura Murray, Jessica Cushing, Rick Krause