Conestoga news

April 19, 2010 1:10 PM

Conestoga Journalism Gives Away More Than $38,000 Dollars at its Awards Gala

Some Conestoga College students got a big jump start to their broadcast journalism careers as the students took home a record number of scholarships and bursaries at the School of Media and Design’s annual Journalism Gala on March 25th. There were 33 different awards for students in the videography and journalism programs at Conestoga. Donations from local newspapers, broadcasters, online publications, and generous private citizens made it possible to give away over 38 thousand dollars in total.

John Hinnen, the General Manager of 680 news in Toronto, served as guest speaker at the banquet. Hinnen is responsible for the Rogers news content across the country and says Conestoga College has become an important source of talent. To cultivate that talent, Rogers gave five graduating students $5,000 dollars each. Four other students took home two thousand dollars each. Rogers has made a commitment to continue funding the awards until 2014 but the total value will vary from year to year.

Journalism Award Winners

According to Mike Collins, General Manager for the Rogers Kitchener Radio Group, “A number of graduates from this program have come to us and helped drive our business, which in this region is 570 News. We need to find and encourage good, young talent, who have the skills we’re looking for. These individuals are certainly coming out of Conestoga.”

Competition for the awards is fierce. Students are evaluated based on their grades, an interview and by examples of their news reporting. “It was really tough for the judges to pick the winners,” says Conestoga’s Journalism-Broadcast Program Coordinator Paul Godkin. “When we told students about the awards in September they made sure they put everything they had into their work. I think the money from Rogers and all our other sponsors is going to attract strong students to the college and keep them highly motivated”

The award winners and honorable mentions were:

1. The Cambridge Times Award for Best News Photo: Alex Cooke (winner); Justine Reist (honourable mention)

2. The Cambridge Times Photo for Best Feature Photo: Nicole Hannusch

3. Guelph Mercury Award for Best News Story: Janelle Scheifele (winner); Michelle Sommer (honourable mention)

4. Township of East Zorra-Tavistock Videography Community Service Award: Rod Penway

5. NOW Media Best Videography Award: Andrea Molnar

6. Faculty Award for Best Writing by a Student in Year 1: Thomas Parent

7. Faculty Award for Most Promising Videographer: Brian Thiel

8. CJOY/Magic FM News Radio Announcing Award: Ian Doyle

9. Sony Canada Best Sports Photo: Mitch Muir (winner); Freeman Carter (honourable mention)

10. Rogers Best Television Report Award: Laura Hatton

11. CTV Southwestern Ontario Digital Media Award: Rod Penway

12. Signal-Star Sports Award for Best Game Coverage: Mitch Muir

13. 570 News Radio Reporting Award: Lori Owen

14. Faith FM Radio Feature or Documentary Award: Babar Tahirkheli and Mariam Zahir (winners); Michelle Velasquez (honourable mention)

15. Edward J. Hayes Award for Best Feature Story: Alex Cooke

16. Most Promising Newswriter, First Year Journalism Print: Lisa Olsen

17. Most Promising Newswriter, First Year Journalism Broadcast: Patrick Finnigan (winner); Hilary Eastmure (honourable mention)

18. Best News Reporting, Videography: Kyle Lowry

19. Best Arts/Entertainment Story, Print: Freeman Carter (winner); Nicole Hannusch (honourable mention)

20. Ross Weichel Award for Best Editorial or Opinion Piece: Greg Cowan

21. Best Feature Story, Videography: Ashley Lewis

22. Carl Fletcher Award for Best Sports Reporter: Greg Cowan

23. Ken MacKenzie Memorial Bursary: Andrew Foscarin

24. Andy Dugan Memorial Award for Most Dedicated Student: Alex Cooke

25. Alumni Association Award of Excellence, Journalism Print: Janelle Scheifele

26. Alumni Association Award of Excellence, Journalism Broadcast: Babar Tahirkheli

27. Alumni Association Award of Excellence, Videography-Broadcast Journalism/Documentary: Bryan Thiel

28. School of Media and Design Best Television Report: Kaitlyn Hynes

29. School of Media and Design Best Videography Award: Leah Bell

30. CTV Broadcast Journalist of the Year: Mariam Zahir

31. Waterloo Region Record Award for Journalist of the Year: Greg Cowan

32. Rogers All-News Radio Stations Student Academic Grants: Ian Doyle, Dave Coulson, Andrea Molnar, Pam Gruetzmacher

33. Rogers All-News Radio Station Student Scholarships: Laura Hatton, Mariam Zahir, Babar Tahirkheli, Matt Adams, Ghinel Bozek