Conestoga news

March 16, 2010 11:25 AM

2010 Government of China Scholarships Available for Conestoga Degree Graduates

As a result of a recently signed Canada-Chongqing Engagement and Way Forward MOU signed between the Governments of Canada and Chongqing and in recognition of Canada's long term commitment to Chongqing, the Chongqing Education Commission (CQEC) will be offering six 2010 Government of China Scholarships to Canadian Students.

This great opportunity is available to eligible applicants who have graduated from a degree program and wish to further study for a master's or for a doctoral degree at Chongqing University or Southwest University, two Chongqing-based national universities authorized by the Chinese Ministry of Education to accept international students on Government of China Scholarships.

Chongqing University, founded in 1929, is a national university, majoring in engineering disciplines and also offering disciplines of economics, management, arts and humanities. Chongqing University runs 26 schools or colleges situated on four campuses where students are provided with good learning and living facilities. Currently, more than 400 international students from over 70 countries are studying at Chongqing University either for degree or non-degree programs.

Southwest University has over 100,000 students, of whom 50,000 are full-time undergraduates and postgraduates. International students from 50 countries are there to study for their Bachelor’s, Master’s, or doctoral degrees. SWU is located in Chongqing municipality, the central city in Western China and it is an ideal place for study in China as it boasts the world-famous Three Gorges, Dazu Stone Carvings and Spicy Hotpot.

The normal duration of study for each program is 2-3 years for master’s degrees and 3-4 years for doctoral degrees. The language of instruction can be either Chinese or English. Applicants who apply for courses instructed in Chinese are required to take a one-year Chinese language course prior to academic study if their Chinese does not meet requirements.

Successful scholarship applicants will be exempt from registration fees and tuition fees and will receive basic learning materials and free accommodation on campus. They will also be covered by Comprehensive Chinese Medical Insurance and receive a monthly delivered living allowance. Train tickets will be provided for scholarship students traveling from the port of entry upon registration to Chongqing.

Applicants must be non-Chinese citizens in good health. Applicants must not be university students in Chinese universities at the time of application. Applicants for master’s degree studies must have completed a Bachelor’s degree and be under the age of 35 while applicants for doctoral degree studies must have a Master’s degree and be under the age of 40.

Information about the Government of China Scholarship, eligibility criteria, pdf formatted application form and available programs at Chongqing University and Southwest University can be found on the detailed information page.

Please note that the application deadline is March 31, 2010 and successful candidates will start their program of study in Chongqing in the fall semester of this year.

All interested applicants, please send applications and supporting documentation to the Canadian Consulate in Chongqing as addressed below:

Peter Liao
Trade Commissioner/Délégué commercial
S&T, Innovation, ICT, Health, Life Sciences, Education Marketing and Executive Training
Telephone | Téléphone: 86-23-633-8007 Ext. 3351
Facsimile | Télécopieur: 86-23-6373-8026 and
Canadian Consulate/Consulat du Canada, Chongqing
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada | Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Government of Canada | Gouvernement du Canada

Applications sent directly to CQEC will not be considered. All applications and supporting documentation will be assessed by a selection committee and merits-based decisions will be made on applications by CQEC upon recommendations of the committee.

china scholarship