Conestoga news

May 10, 2006 10:53 AM

Broadcasting Students Receive Awards for Excellence

Sixteen students from Conestoga's three-year program in Broadcasting - Radio and Television are sharing $6,300 in awards as the outstanding students in the program for the 2005-2006 academic year. The awards are sponsored by a variety of broadcasting-related businesses, industries and organizations.

Broadcasting - Radio and Television has long been a popular program at Conestoga. Offered at the Doon campus in Kitchener, it explores many aspects of the broadcasting profession: news and entertainment, on-air performance, programming, mobile production, regulations, sales, camera operation and videography, editing and management. Senior-level students specialize in either radio or television, and all students in the program gain considerable experience at Conestoga's television studio and at 88.3 CJIQ-FM, Conestoga's radio station that has a signal that covers most of southwestern Ontario. Many students add to the value of their studies by working part-time in the broadcasting industry during their period of enrolment.

Beginning in the fall of 2006, the program will be restructured into two programs, each two years in length. One will be titled Broadcasting - Radio, the other will be Broadcasting - Television. This decision has been made for several reasons: the increasing level of specialization required in each broadcasting field; the opportunity for students to choose their specialization and complete their studies sooner, in order to start their careers sooner; and the increased ease of linking to related university programs that allow advanced standing for diploma graduates.

Winners of multiple awards are:
• Christina Marshall of Eden Mills --
The $250 Carl A. Pollock Memorial Award (sponsored by Electrohome Ltd.) for the highest academic standing in the second year of program studies and the $250 Broadcaster of the Year Award (CTV/CKCO-TV) for outstanding talent and excellence in programming and production;
• Ken Milmine of Kitchener --
The $500 Betty Thompson Memorial Bursary (CTV/CKCO-TV) for community involvement through volunteer work and the $250 Broadcasting Faculty Award (CHUM Radio) for outstanding support of the program's teaching team;
• Matt Schichter of Waterloo --
The $500 John Larke Memorial Award (CHYM-FM/CKGL 570 News) to pursue further broadcasting-related education and the $300 K.A. MacKenzie Memorial Award (former faculty colleagues and friends) for innovative use of technology;
• Jennifer Vallee of Kitchener --
The $250 Creative Writing Award (CJCS/107.7 MIX-FM) for excellence and variety in commercial writing and the $250 Community Programming Award (FM 98.5 CKWR) for radio production related to community activities or stories.

Winners of individual awards are:
• Mark Araujo of Ayr --
The $250 Station Manager's Award (Rogers Television) for excellence in production of local television during field placement with Rogers;
• Jamie Gibson of Cambridge --
The $250 third-year Announcer of the Year Award (CHYM-FM) for progress and excellence in announcing;
• Daniella Huber of Plattsville --
The $250 Promotion Award (106.7 KICX-FM) for achievement in developing a specific promotional campaign within a predetermined budget;
• Jeff Johnson of Drumbo --
The $250 Newsperson of the Year Award (CJOY/MAGIC-FM) for enterprise and expertise in news reporting;
• Nikki Konarski of Waterloo --
The $250 91.5 The Beat Student Achievement Award (CanWest Global) for significant academic improvement demonstrated during the second year of program studies;
• Adam Krulicki of Kitchener --
The $250 second-year Announcer of the Year Award (CHYM-FM) for progress and excellence in announcing;
• Matt Pancer of Kitchener --
The $500 Award for Excellence in Radio Programming (CHUM Radio) in recognition of demonstrated advanced skills in documentary or magazine-format programming;
• Barry Rooke of Guelph --
The $250 Radio Production Award (107.7 MIX-FM) for demonstrated individual ability in creative commercial production;
• Randy Sachs of Dobbinton --
The $250 first-year Announcer of the Year Award (CHYM-FM) for progress and excellence in announcing;
• Steve Vanderheide of Kitchener --
The $500 Pat Fitzgerald Award (CKCO-TV staff) for collegiality with respect to other students through demonstration of motivation, goodwill, patience and consideration;
• Tim Vanderspek of Waterloo --
The $250 Award of Contribution (Rogers Television) in recognition of a student volunteer on field placement with Rogers who demonstrates outstanding commitment to local television;
• Lyndsey Woolcock of Kitchener --
The $500 Christopher-Allen Rawnsley Award (SONY of Canada) for the demonstration of exceptional visual production skills.

CONTACT: Michael Thurnell, 519-748-5220, ext. 3223,