Conestoga news

June 2, 2003 10:38 AM

35th Convocation Ceremonies Set for June 18-19

More than 3,000 Conestoga College graduates are eligible to take part in the College's 35th Convocation ceremonies on Wednesday, June 18 and Thursday, June 19 at the Conestoga College Recreation Centre in Kitchener.

There will be four ceremonies in all -- two on each day.

The first starts at 3:30 p.m. on June 18 and features graduates of several academic divisions: the School of Liberal Studies, the School of Trades and Apprenticeship and the School of Engineering Technology. Addressing the graduates will be Larry Smith, President of Essential Economics Corporation.

The evening ceremony on June 18 begins at 7:30 and honours graduates of programs in the School of Business and Hospitality and programs administered by the Continuing Education Division. Guest speaker will be Jan Chaplin, President and CEO of Canadian-General Tower Limited.

The 3:30 p.m. ceremony on June 19 recognizes graduates of programs in Media Studies, Information Technology and Health Sciences. Addressing the graduates will be Linda Hasenfratz, President and CEO of Linamar Corporation.

The final ceremony, starting at 7:30 p.m. on June 19, honours graduates of Community Services programs. Guest speaker will be Kenneth Hammill, Executive Director of Friends of Guelph.

Graduates will receive certificates and diplomas, and will be invested with the Conestoga College Liripipe, a ceremonial shoulder sash denoting successful completion of studies and readiness to enter their chosen vocations. Each guest speaker will receive from President John Tibbits an inscribed and framed College Coat of Arms in recognition of career achievements and community leadership.

In addition, the College will present its four major College-wide awards.

The Governor General's Academic Medal goes to the diploma-level graduate with the highest academic standing. The Mastercraft Award goes to the individual or student team producing the best program-related technical project. The James W. Church Achievement Award is for the graduate who combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic achievement. The Aubrey Hagar Distinguished Teaching Award goes to a faculty member who has compiled a record of excellence in the areas of teaching, curriculum development, academic innovation, service to students and service to the College.

CONTACT: John Sawicki, 519-748-5220, ext. 3336