Conestoga news

October 29, 2002 2:50 PM

Dennis Watson Elected Board of Governors Chair

Conestoga College is pleased to announce the re-election of Dennis Watson as Chair of the Board of Governors for academic year 2002-2003. Mr. Watson is Vice-President and General Manager of CKCO-TV in Kitchener and has been a Board member since 1998.
New Vice-Chairs of the Board are William Dahms, a Partner with Miller Thomson LLP, and John Reid, Regional Managing Partner (Ontario) with KPMG. Mr. Reid joined the Board in 2000, Mr. Dahms in 2001.

Joining the Board of Governors for three-year terms effective September 2002 are: Geoffrey Crickmay, Senior Vice-President, Group Business, Manulife Financial (Waterloo); Joan Fisk, President and CEO, Tiger Brand Knitting Co. Ltd. (Cambridge); and Patricia Quinn, President and CEO, Creative Options Inc. (Waterloo).

Two new internal members have also joined the Board, effective September 2002. Faculty member Richard Farrar of the Business Administration - Accounting program will serve a three-year term of office; student member Francesco Robles of the Business Administration - Management Studies program has a one-year term.

Other members of the Conestoga College Board of Governors are Mike Annable, Leonard Carter, Stephen Case, Jim Crocker, Wendy Hallman, John Keating, Lynn Knowles, Marilyn Wolfe and John Tibbits.

CONTACT: President's Office, 519-748-5220, ext. 3248